Kiwi Jalapeno Jam

22 Apr
I think this has been called “Kissin’ Jam” because its sweet and spicy. I left the jalapeno seeds in, because I like it hot, really hot… Just like my kissing… hmm nice segway.

Anyway, its pretty easy, just a bunch of knife work for the most part. I am waiting for kiwi’s to go on sale, only occasionally they are 5/$1, right now they are 3/$1. I bought about 22 for the recipe.

22 Kiwis, or about 3 Lbs
5 Jalapenos, seeds or no seeds
1/2 C. Sugar
1 Pack no sugar pectin

I sliced all the skins off the kiwis, and I cut a few into slices. You don’t really need to slice them, once they get warm you can mash them against the side of your pot.

Dice the jalapenos and add them into the pot.

Bring to a boil, its a mooshy boil, but a low boil nonetheless, add sugar, stir well until blended entirely.

Add pectin and cook on high for about 3 minutes.
Remove from heat and start the canning process. You can seal your jars in a water bath or go the freezer jam method.
I have tried this jam in peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and its not the best I have ever had, however, this tastes amazing on an english muffin or toast with butter, and with goat cheese on a baguette, nom. Besides, its a beauty in the jar if I say so myself.

Note on sugar: I never use a lot of sugar in my jams, I don’t think I need to enhance natural fruit flavor with additional sugar. As long as my content is acidic enough I generally cut down or I use a bit of honey in all my recipes. If the batch is not acidic enough I just freeze it.
Leave a Reply

